This Sunday, March 10, 2019 we will “spring forward” in recognition of daylight saving time. While we have been changing the time on our clocks for many years now, have you ever wondered why that is or why there are some areas that don’t do it? Great Plains Communications has a few fun facts on the matter.

The Legislative Bill 309 has been introduced.

In 2018, Senator Lydia Brasch introduced Legislative Bill 309 with the intent of eliminating daylight saving time in Nebraska. She stated, “The standard time of the state of Nebraska shall be the time established by the Uniform Time Act of 1966 in both the Central and Rocky Mountain time zones, except that the state of Nebraska shall not observe daylight saving time.”

The United States was not the first country to recognize daylight saving time.

Germany was the first country to enact daylight saving time on April 30, 1916 in steps to conserve electricity during World War 1. Shortly after, the United Kingdom did the same, introducing “summer time.” The United States didn’t adopt daylight saving until 1918 but didn’t apply to everyone. It wasn’t until Lyndon B. Johnson started the Uniform Time Act in 1966 that we observed time as it is today in America. The Uniform Time Act gave states the option to either adopt daylight saving time for six months and standard time for the other six months of the year or opt out altogether.

Not everybody in the United States changes their clocks.

Both Hawaii and Arizona do not observe daylight saving time, as well as Guam, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. Some Amish communities also choose to remain on standard time year-round.

Pin It on Pinterest